Take 3: Nordic International Film Festival Returns In October


Music & Arts

Take 3: Nordic International Film Festival Returns In October

John Matton (right) and Linnea Larsdotter (left); Photo: NIFF

The third edition of the Nordic International Film Festival is right around the corner.

The event, started by Swedish actors/filmmakers John Matton and Linnea Larsdotter, returns to the Scandinavia House in New York City Oct. 12-14.

“What is different this year is that many larger distribution companies and more established sales companies are sending their work to us in hopes for us to showcase their work,” Matton said.

The festival celebrates Nordic and international independent films and continues to grow, according to Matton. Many of this year’s films are world or North American premieres, and Matton said that 83 percent of the films feature female directors, producers or writers.

NIFF also has seen growth in its jury, which has doubled in size and features some star power.

“It is so valuable to us to get insight from established actors and industry people, helping to judge our work,” Matton said. “We are happy that there is such an interest in Nordic and International independent film from highly established filmmakers and actors and that there is a willingness to watch our films at the Nordic International Film Festival.”

Kristin Chenoweth; Photo: Digitas Photos

This year’s jury includes:

  • Kristin Chenoweth (“Glee,” “Wicked on Broadway,” “You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown,” “Pushing Daisies”)
  • Jerome Flynn (Bronn in “Game of Thrones”)
  • Selenis Leyva (Gloria Mendoza in “Orange is the New Black”)
  • Brooklyn Decker (Mallory Hanson in “Grace and Frankie” and former Sports Illustrated swimsuit cover model)
  • Hakeem Kae-Kazim (“Hotel Rwanda,” Mr. Scott in “Black Sails” and Zeus in new show “Troy”)
  • Ingrid Rudefors (former film commissioner for Stockholm region of Sweden)
  • Bo Svenson (current member of The Academy Awards jury for best foreign films, “Kill Bill: Volume 2,” “Inglorius Basterds” and many other TV and film credits)
  • Jacob A. Ware (“Boardwalk Empire” and “Shades of Blue”)
  • Rochelle Boström (former member of the SAG Awards jury)
  • Charlotte Munck (“Anna Pihl,” “Meeres Stille” and “A War”)

© 2023 Swedish Match. All right reserved.

icon_facebook icon_twitter icon_email

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?