Metallica To Be Honored With Polar Music Prize

Photos: Metallica

Music & Arts

Metallica To Be Honored With Polar Music Prize

What do Paul McCartney, Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan, Emmylou Harris and Elton John have in common?

In addition to being musical geniuses, each has won the Polar Music Prize, a prestigious international award founded by Swede Stig Anderson, the late manager of ABBA, in 1989. Winners also have included Ray Charles, Pink Floyd and B.B. King, among others.

This year’s Polar Prize recipient will be Metallica, the pioneering metal band that has sold more than 100 million records worldwide.

According to Billboard, Metallica will receive its award on June 14 from King Carl XVI Gustav of Sweden in Stockholm. The band also will be awarded a prize of 1 million kronor ($124,500). The Afghanistan National Institute of Music was named the winner of the prize’s classical music category.

© 2023 Swedish Match. All right reserved.

icon_facebook icon_twitter icon_email

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?